h1

Finally!

February 22, 2010

This week I was still working on getting my build-coverage to work . I had to first fix the hg checkout. With max’s help, I was able to overcome the assertion error I was getting. My build then worked on Lyorn perfectly.

On windows it was giving me a windows error: WindowsError: [Error 2] The system cannot find the file specified . To fix it , I have tried the build command directly on my machine:
BuildCommand([python_exe, ‘setup.py’, ‘build_ext’, ‘-i’],name=’compile’),

The python_exe was refering to :python 2.6 and that’s why the setup.py couldn’t run. Once changed to python , it was able to run using python.exe . But a different error message showed up:
stderr:
<error: Unable to find vcvarsall.bat

I had Visual Studio but had to download the Visual Studio  2008 because other versions of VS aren't supported by Python 2.6 .
My build then FINALLY worked on windows as well. As Rose would say : "Hooray!"

http://lyorn.idyll.org/ctb/pb-dev/p/coverage/16996/

Thanks to both Titus and Rose for their continuous help!
On the other hand, I still have to figure out  why a clean build is not done.  The build doesn’t work the second time when forcing it to rebuild. The cache_dir doesn’t get deleted and therefore the build just fail.

I have tried to deleted manually first then rebuild and it worked .I will try to work on this problem more the coming days.

Leave a comment